Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

Post NaNoWriMo Blues

2013-Participant-Twitter-Header

I haven’t participated in NaNo for the past couple of years, but I miss it. Still keep up with the NaNo site over November, and when it’s over – and after I congratulate all the winners and see how my buddies did, I realize just how amazing the movement that is NaNo is. It’s AMAZING! I’m so proud to have been a part of it in past years.

I can’t help feeling a little sad in December.  I’m proud of the winners, for persevering, and for making writing a priority for 30 days – a mere 1/12th of the year. I know that many of those folks are now feeling depressed. They miss thinking about story,  characters, plot, setting, tempo. They miss the frequent emails from writing buddies.

But now that I’ve transitioned out of NaNo and into writing throughout the year, I feel more like a true writer. I feel pulled in 20 different directions at times, but my writing is consistent. I have one novel polished (and an editor has requested the full – cross your fingers!!), another novel in rewrite, and several novels drafted.  I have made writing a priority throughout the year, and I feel as if I’ve made real progress in my skill set since I’ve done that. NaNo was wonderful for teaching me how to turn off the dreaded Internal Editor and push through that first draft until I reach “The End.”

NaNo Lessons:

  • Turn off the Internal Editor
  • Start the story at the beginning
  • Tell the story
  • Write the ending
  • Every first draft is PERFECT in that it exists

Have you participated in NaNo? If so, what did it teach you? And have you continued to participate?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Post NaNoWriMo Blues

  1. What a tribute to NANO and those authors around the globe who participated! Novels are born in November, and so are novelists. Thanks, Lori!

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavin's Blog

International Best Selling author of spicy romances you can't put down. Living the dream.

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

