Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

National Novel Writing Month Withdrawal

This is the 2nd year in a row I haven’t participated in National Novel Writing Month. And it bums me out. I won NaNo eight times – every year I participated, I ended the month with a first draft that I was proud of. Last year, I decided that I had outgrown NaNo and owed it to myself to finish something, and take my writing more seriously. But I still miss NaNo. What do I miss?

  • The challenge of writing 50K words in a single month
  • The feeling of camaraderie that came from the psychic connection with writers all over the world
  • Write-ins fueled by caffeine and word wars
  • The word count bar growing day by day
  • The forums (especially NaNoWriMo Ate My Soul)
  • Earning my purple bar
  • Last, but not least, making writing a priority

<SIGH>

Maybe I need to do my own version of NaNo this month. I think I need a write-in . . .

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavins Blog

Sizzling Fantasies Fulfilled

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

