Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

Life Planner

Day Planner Cover

Day Planner Cover

I mentioned on a layout last week that I am a planner. When I was about 8 or 9 years old, I began planning – creating a schedule for each day. Never stuck with it, but I tried. The problem was that I tried to plan every single minute of the day – down to timing how long it took me to brush my teeth. In 1990, my boss sent me to a Franklin Covey class and so began my adult foray into planning. The thing I liked about the Franklin approach was the idea of a common planner, a single calendar to hold everything, personal and work related. I used a Franklin up until just a couple of years ago. Oh – one of my favorite things about the Franklin planner was getting my new refill and working through the goals section. It felt so good to start fresh each year, and to look back and see what I accomplished, then look forward and decide what else I wanted to accomplish. I haven’t done that since I stopped using a Franklin. The reason I stopped was that the way I approached my day doesn’t fit within the Franklin parameters, so I tried DayTimer, and D*I*Y planners.  By the way – I have to give a shout out to Douglas Johnston – his D*I*Y Planner site is amazing. Definitely check it out. Go. Right now. I’ll wait. <whistling> I used to use the Hipster planner for NaNoWriMo every year, and liked it so much I created Hipsters to give to all the folks in my group that came to our kickoff.

I finally created my own planner. Here’s what I found works for me, at this point in my life:

  • 5 things I NEED to get done today
  • Morning Routine (inspired by Flylady)
  • After Work Routine
  • How much water have I drunk?*
  • To Do List

My format is set up in blocks, with a visual representation of 8 water bottles so I can just X them off as I drink. I also included “Create” in my after work routine, to remind me that I need to make creativity a part of my daily routine. It is just as important as doing laundry and washing dishes! The planner prints two to a page, so I can print them out on plain 8 1/2 by 11 copy paper, then cut them in half. I use my Bind-It-All to spiral bind several pages together, then I insert them in a reusable cover (that’s it pictured above). If you’d like a copy of the daily planner in Word that you can adjust to fit your own life, feel free to send me a comment (below) and I’ll send you a copy.

*I have kidney problems, likely related to having lupus. I’ve had several kidney stones and have ended up in the hospital more times than I care to remember. The easiest way to keep from suffering another bout is to drink more water, but I don’t get thirsty, so having a visual reminder in front of me keeps me hydrated.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Life Planner

  1. Michelle on said:

    Hi Lori- Would love a copy of your planner. My mind tends to be a jumbled mess most of the time. I make lists upon lists and of course I end losing the lists. The other issue I have is that I have too many notebooks and planners for everything and my phone is chuck full of lists as well. I tend to get overwhelmed with my lists.

    Thank you for this great blog entry !

    • Thanks for stopping by! I used to do the same thing – list upon list, plus I tried for a while to have 2 separate lists – one for work, one for home. Then I even had a separate one for “the holidays”. UG – too much! I just sent you an email with a copy of my daily planner page. Hope it works for you!

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavins Blog

Sizzling Fantasies Fulfilled

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

