Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

Vacation 2013: Leaving Missouri

I had so much fun sharing my Star Trek album with you that I thought I’d share my vacation album as it evolves. This was an odd vacation year for us. We had thought it would be our last family vacation with the youngest kiddo, but she moved out a bit earlier than we had anticipated. So we thought it would just be the two of us, our first vacation as empty nesters. Then we were talking to the eldest kiddo and as it turned out, the week we were going was the week between summer classes and fall classes (she’s starting her last year in dental hygienist school), so we asked her to go and, to our delight, she said she would love to. So, we decided to head north for our favorite vacation destination – Michigan. Aunt C asked if she could go along, too, and plans were finalized. As you know, I am finding my way along this new path . . . and learning to let go and go with the flow is huge for me. I want to plan every detail. This trip wasn’t planned like that – it was all about relaxation, and just enjoying life.

Leaving Missouri

Leaving Missouri

Jo & Aunt C met at our house at an ungodly hour, and we set off (after getting coffee – me without coffee in the morning is not a pretty sight). This photo was our first woo-hoo moment, as we crossed the Mississippi River and left Missouri in the rear view mirror. I don’t usually do one photo layouts, but I thought this one turned out OK. And it works well as the first page in my album.

This page was a fun challenge for me. I ran across a brand new challenge blog called 1 2 3 Get Scrappy. It’s a neat idea – they post a tic-tac-toe board and you pick three things in a row to include in your layout. This month’s challenge offered something that caught my eye: red, free, and Thickers. I have some Subway Thickers and I wanted to use the wavy lines to represent the Mississippi River. After that, it was easy to put this layout together, using some papers from my stash (from a paper stack by Brenda Walton that I’ve had for at least a couple of years). In particular, I like the way the photo matting turned out. It was fun to do a challenge – I think I’ll have to try more in the future!

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Vacation 2013: Leaving Missouri

  1. Great LO! Thanks for joining us @ 123 Get Scrappy.

  2. love the way this layout turned out.
    what a great photo.
    thanks for playing along at 123 get scrappy

  3. What a great layout! So glad you joined us over at 123 Get Scrappy!

  4. what a special photo, sometimes you just need one photo to create a very special layout and remember those fantastic times, thanks so much for joining us at 123 Get SCrappy

  5. midwestgirl60 on said:

    Fun shot and a great way to start your vacation album! I live in Michigan and it is a great place to vacation, love being so close the the Great Lakes. I also like to plan out vacations, that’s half the fun for me. But going with the flow is good, too.

  6. Wonderful job with the challenge, looks marvelous! thanks for joining us at 123 get scrappy!

  7. Beautiful page!!

  8. Love the contrast between dark image on the photo and bright colors on the patterned papers. Good job!
    Thanks for playing with us at 123 Get Scrappy!

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavins Blog

Sizzling Fantasies Fulfilled

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

