Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

STAR TREK: Meeting Don Marshall

Don Marshall - autographing my photo

Don Marshall – autographing my photo

Don Marshall is probably best known for his role as Dan Erickson in the series, Land of the Giants, but I also liked him in Star Trek, where he played Lt. Boma in The Galileo Seven. He was at the Chicago Star Trek Convention, and I asked him to sign a photo, which he gladly did. As he started to sign, I asked if I could take his photo. He grinned and said, “Of course!” – it made my day that he seemed so willing to sign autographs. He seemed to truly appreciate the fans. After he signed, he asked if I wanted a page protector. Since I had already spent way more at the conference than I had intended, I was embarrassed, but asked how much. He grinned again, inclined his head towards me and said, in his amazing voice, “For you, m’lady, no charge.” Or something like that. I was so blown away by his chivalrous attitude, I couldn’t quit grinning.

I would love to get DeForest Kelley to sign this photo, too. Wouldn’t that be amazing?

Don Marshall's autograph

Don Marshall’s autograph

I am having so much fun putting this Star Trek album together. Doing it as an 8×8 has been a challenge. I usually work nearly exclusively with 12 x 12. But this new format has encouraged me to put the focus on the pictures (usually one per page), and to hide the journaling. On this particular 2 page spread, I also used a page extension and hidden journaling. It works out well – I can share the album with people without boring them to tears with my notes, yet I still have the notes to jog my memory (yeah, like I’ll ever forget this trip!!) as I sit and reminisce.

As I’ve mentioned before, going to this Convention was one of the most fun things I’ve ever done. It was so cool to meet the actors in person. And making this album is allowing me to relive the memories. Makes me smile every time I look at it!

If you don’t scrapbook, I still encourage you to print your photos out. Put them in albums. Write notes about who is in the photos and what was going on, where the photo was taken and when. Imagine if Revolution were to really happen and your only photos were stored in your phone, but there was no power. What if you never download your photos and after you die, your kids throw your iPad away because it is antiquated technology. What then? What happens to our memories?

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “STAR TREK: Meeting Don Marshall

  1. I absolutely agree with your comment about Revolution! That’s why I teach scrapbooking classes…I want to help people get those memories and photos safely into albums!

    That’s such a great photo of Don and De, it’s too bad you won’t be able to get his autograph. 😦 I was scheduled to see DeForest Kelley at a Creation con in Spokane, but he got sick and couldn’t make it. It was shortly after that that he passed away. I can’t believe it has been 14 years!

    • I know – it makes me sad to think about those stars passing away. Really wish I had gotten Shatner’s autograph when we went to see him last year in St. Louis. I keep thinking I’d love to buy an autograph of DeForest Kelly and somehow overlay it on this photo for display purposes.

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavin's Blog

International Best Selling author of spicy romances you can't put down. Living the dream.

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

