Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

Scrapbooking Li…

As I worked on my Star Trek album over the past week, I realized how long I spent on each page. This album is special, and I love the memories that come to mind as I work on it. Each page has been a process, with spray ink and distress ink and embellishments so that there is a continuity to the album. And that’s all fine and good, but it makes me wonder about the rest of my life. I want to scrapbook LIFE. Given my schedule, that means that not all of my pages are going to be works of art.

And that’s OK.

I’ve decided to start sharing more of my pages, even the ones that I didn’t spend a lot of time and money on, because the CONTENT of my albums is more important than the ARTSYNESS of my albums. I scrapbook because I want to document my life, share stories of my family, and leave a legacy for those who come after me. As an example, here is my first attempt at a cover for my DIY day planner. I’ve used Franklin Covey for years, then tried DayTimer (didn’t like them), D*I*Y planners, Outlook, but nothing fit the bill. So, I decided to create my own. I’m going to try doing small monthly spiral bound planners (bound with my Zutter Bind It All)which is the coolest tool ever – it hole punches, then you insert wire binding into the holes, then use the Bind It All to close the spiral binding). I’ve got a little more work on the guts of this before I share it, but in the meantime, here’s a peek at the cover.

Day Planner Cover

So – that’s why I scrap – to document my life. The good, the bad, the daily. If you scrapbook, why do you? If you don’t, why not? (and if you are a newbie to scrapping, feel free to ask questions – this is a safe place!)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavin's Blog

International Best Selling author of spicy romances you can't put down. Living the dream.

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

