Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

Meeting Rom: Max Grodenchik

Max Grodenchik as Rom from Deep Space Nine

Max Grodenchik as Rom from Deep Space Nine

Carol and I were in line early, PDF tickets in hand, waiting to get into the Star Trek convention. A perky young woman scanned our tickets and affixed wristbands to our arms. We were in!

It was a bit overwhelming. We spotted the theater where we would watch speakers throughout the day, scanned our schedules and headed off to check out the vendors. Almost immediately, I spotted a blank journal – a “Personal Log,” but I passed it up, determined to take it all in before purchasing anything. Tip: don’t pass something up that you really want. It wasn’t there when we went back. But I digress. We looked at various memorabilia and photos, then found a row of tables set up along the windows. A man was placing 8×10 photos in neat stacks on one of the tables.

Carol grabbed my arm and pointed, “Those are pictures of Rom! Rom is going to be here! I’ve seen him in every episode of Deep Space Nine! He was Quark’s brother. I wonder when he’ll get here.”

The man turned slightly and leaned towards Carol, then whispered, “I’m Rom.”

Carol and I blinked. She said, “You’re Rom?”

The woman behind the table grinned and confirmed, “Yes, he’s Rom!”

Carol said, “I can see the resemblance!”

“My dear,” he said with a grin, “I don’t think that’s a compliment!”

Max went on to ask us where we’re from, and was quite helpful when we told him it was our first conference. He asked our names, then excused himself so he could finish setting up. When we returned to his table later to get his autograph, he remembered us! This is a photo that makes me smile every time I see it.

Max Grodenchik

Max Grodenchik

As you can tell, this is from my Star Trek Scrapbook. Here’s another page I did. Both pages use Kraft paper as a base, misted with Color Shine in Teal (by Heidi Swapp), and embellished with Simple Stories Destinations line. The edges are inked using Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Soot. The journaling is from my stash – Jenni Bowlin, I think. This is an 8×8 album, so there’s not a lot of room for journaling. Using hidden journaling like this tag that slips behind your photo is a great way to include personal details without taking up a lot of space. It also comes in handy when the journaling is really more for you than the folks you’ll share your album with.

Hidden Journalling

Hidden Journaling

Thanks for looking!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Meeting Rom: Max Grodenchik

  1. Love the hidden journaling idea!

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavins Blog

Sizzling Fantasies Fulfilled

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

