Lori Robinett: {Creating} My Path

musings of a wife, mother, writer . . .

Hallucinations . . . (It’s Not a Tumor) (editor’s note: read with a heavy Austrian accent)

ImageEarlier this week, I awoke in the early morning hours to see a body hanging from the ceiling, head down, arms outstretched. The head was about 6″ above my nightstand. I’m pretty sure he was dead. I turned my head away, telling myself, “It’s not real. It’s not real.” Turned back to see if the body was still there.

It was.

So I rolled back over and closed my eyes tight, again telling myself “It’s not real.” I repeated that until I finally fell back asleep. When I awoke, the body was gone.

WHEW.

Back to sleep. Woke up again and there it was again. Exact same place, hanging the same way.

Now, a writer I look up to and try to learn from (Holly Lisle) recently sent an email saying that writers should question everything. We should ask why.

So, following that train of thought, I wanted to know WHY I saw a dead body hanging beside my bed. Especially upside down. Clear as day, while I was awake. I did what all good researchers do, and typed it into Google “what causes hallucinations”.

Well, my friend, that probably wasn’t a smart thing to do. Because now I suspect that I either have psychosis, dementia, or a tumor. If you don’t believe me, read THIS for yourself. Of course, it could be something like a migraine or a sleep disturbance. I just have to keep telling myself, it’s not a tumor!

Have you ever had a hallucination? If so, what?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Hallucinations . . . (It’s Not a Tumor) (editor’s note: read with a heavy Austrian accent)

  1. Karen on said:

    Maybe you should have looked up: dead bodies hanging upside down by my bed in the “Dream Decoder” site….. that’s what I would have done first. If it happens again you should ask him why he’s there.
    Yeah, hope it’s not a tumor…..

  2. LOL – I actually did try googling that, though I’m going to have to check out the Dream Decoder site! If he shows up again, I’ll ask him & see what he says.

  3. Never mind why! Just jot it all down in your writer’s notebook and start planning out the excellent horror story you are going to write.

  4. I wrote detailed notes about the experience . . . my body’s reaction, how I felt, thoughts that flitted through my mind and every detail I could remember about the body. Some part of that experience is going into the rewrite of Widow’s Web!

  5. I love this title!

Leave a Reply

Buried Under Books

Tales of a former indie bookseller

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Author Jacey Holbrand

Hot Days ~ Sexy Nights ~ Come Play

Liz Gavin's Blog

International Best Selling author of spicy romances you can't put down. Living the dream.

Corinne Phillips - Fairytale Maker

snippets of inspiration for your day

Tarah Benner

Author of The Fringe and The Defectors Trilogy

Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Believing In The Unbelievables: From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

romance festival

Home of the virtual romance festival.

